This is called the interbrain because it connects the brainstem with the cerebrum.

Diencephalon is also called the upper brain stem. It has on its sides structures of the basal ganglia which are embryologically and phylogenetically superior to it. The structures of the basal ganglia which surrounds the diencephalon are corpus striatum together with its division into a lateral lentiform nucleus and a medial caudate nucleus. Most of the diencephalic structures are placed at the back, i.e. dorsally and they are mainly thalamic. The diencephalon is divided into the following parts

1.              Thalamus

2.              Hypothalamus

3.              Epithalamus.

4.The last structure within the diencephalon is the subthalamus.  

The cavity of the diencephalon is the 3rd ventricle while the cavity of the midbrain is the cerebral aqueduct.


Electronic School of Medicine
Creator: Oluwole Ogunranti

Brainstem Thalamus Forebrain Medulla Midbrain Pons
Temporal lobe Basal ganglia Epithalamus Cerebral operculum Remove operculum Wall of lateral ventricle 1
Wall of lateral ventricle 2 Wall of lateral ventricle 3 Lateral ventricle 1 Lateral ventricle 2 Base Rhomboid fossa




Brain function

Neuro movie




Cell Biology
Gross anatomy
Lymphatic drainage
Organ integration
Clinical anatomy





Chemical Pathology

Anatomical Pathology





Main Subject Course Links

eAnatomy eAnesthesia eBiochemistry eChemical pathology eCommunity Health
eDermatology eENT eGynecology eHematology eImaging
eMedicine eMedical microbiology eObstetrics eOphthalmology ePathology
ePediatrics ePharmacology ePhysiology ePsychiatry    eSurgery/eOrthopedics
eLab eOSCE eProcedures eInvestigations eSchool/Videopage
eOrgans eLocator Anatomy Museum eDissector eFractures/Dissect-it-yourself
All diseases eClerking eTreatment eDoctor ePatient