The liverís vessels have two groups

Superficial and

Deep vessels

The superficial vessels drain in four directions

The vessels that drain the coronary and right triangular ligaments may enter the thoracic duct.

Vessels of the porta hepatis, close to the falciform ligament, enter the hepatic nodes from where they gain access to the celiac nodes and then to the intestinal trunk.

Vessels in the posterior part of left lobe pass through the esophageal opening to enter into paracardial nodes.

Vessels which drain the rest of the right lobe enter the celiac nodes.

The deep vessels of the liver form the ascending and descending trunks. The ascending trunk ends in nodes close to inferior vena cava in the mediastinum. The descending trunks leave the porta hepatis and enter the hepatic nodes.

All the vessels (except the paracardial and the ascending trunk, which end in the nodes of inferior vena cava) enter into the celiac node. From these nodes they pass into the intestinal lymph trunks, which then enter the cisterna chyli or the abdominal confluence of lymph trunks. The cisterna chyli drains into the thoracic duct. The exceptions enter the bronchomedistinal trunk to reach the right jugulosubclavian junction or the right lymph duct.


There is nothing in anatomy not found in this website